Welcome to the Department of Education

The Department of Education assists persons seeking degrees or certification in public school teaching.

The Department of Education serves the University in three essential functions.

  1. Prepare students in the three areas of specialization the department offers at the undergraduate level: Elementary Education, Early Childhood Education, and Special Education. The areas of specialization lead to teacher licensure and certification in Oklahoma.
  2. Provide professional education courses which enable competent educators in all of the teacher education programs at the University.
  3. Offer eight options at the master's level (see Section on School of Graduate Studies). The graduate program prepares individuals for variety of occupations in public schools, related positions in institutions, business, industry, or hospitals.

ECU Student teaching class