Graduate Faculty

G. Richard Wetherill, PhD (2005)

Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Executive Director of Continuing Education and Community Services
Professor, Education
BA, East Central State College, 1971
MS, East Texas State University - Commerce, 1973
PhD, Texas A&M University, 1977
Phone: 580-559-5709
rwethrll@ecok.edu

Jody Alford, MS (2008)

Instructor, Psychology
AA, Seminole State College, 1994
BS, East Central University, 1998
MS, East Central University, 2007
Phone: 580-559-5344
jalford@ecok.edu

Scott Barton, PhD (1993)

Professor and Interim Chair, History and Native American Studies
BA, Marshall University, 1983
MA, Texas A&M University, 1987
PhD, Texas A&M University, 1991
Phone:  580-559-5563
sbarton@ecok.edu

John Bedford, EdD (1997)

Professor, Education
BS, West Texas State University, 1969
MS, West Texas State University, 1972
EdD, Baylor University, 1995
Phone: 580-559-5323
jbedford@ecok.edu

Yvonne Bedford, MA (2001)

Instructor, Education
BS, West Texas State University, 1972
MA, University of Texas - Permian Basin, 1982
Phone: 580-559-5338
ybedford@ecok.edu

Laura Bixler, PhD (1998)

Professor, Education
BSEd, Southwestern Oklahoma State University, 1980
MEd, University of Central Oklahoma, 1983
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 1998
Phone: 580-559-5351
lbixler@ecok.edu

Keith Buelow (2012)

Adjunct, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1996
MS, East Central University, 2011

James W. Burke, Jr., PhD (1978)

Professor and Chair, Human Resources and Col. Tom A. Thomas Endowed Chair in Human Resources
BA, University of Tulsa, 1972
MSW, Our Lady of the Lake University, 1976
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 1989
Phone: 580-559-5707
jaburke@ecok.edu

Debbie Claxton, MEd (2001)

Instructor, Education
BSEd, East Central University, 1994
MEd, East Central University, 2001
Graduate work in progress, Oklahoma State University
Phone: 580-559-5309
dclaxton@ecok.edu

Rebecca Compton, EdD (1979)

Professor, Education
BSEd, University of Oklahoma, 1973
MEd, East Central University, 1980
EdD, University of Oklahoma, 1995
Phone: 580-559-5543
bcompton@ecok.edu

Terry Doepke (2011)

Adjunct, Human Resources
BA, Southern Nazarene University, 1992
MS, East Central University, 2010

Jason Duncan, MS (2002)

Adjunct Professor, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1995
MS, East Central University, 2002
Phone:  580-559-5589
jduncan@ecok.edu

Jerry N. Duncan, ABPP, PhD (2007)

Assistant Professor, Psychology
BA, East Central University, 1975
MEd, Georgia State University, 1977
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 1982
Phone: 580-559-5335
jnduncan@ecok.edu

Paul N. Emrich, PhD (2005)

Assistant Professor, Human Resources
BA, Oklahoma Baptist University, 1996
MS, Oklahoma Baptist University, 1999
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 2011
Phone: 580-559-5460
pemrich@ecok.edu

Janet L. Flowers, PhD (2007)

Instructor, Human Resources
BA, Humboldt State University, 1991
MA, Southren Nazarene University, 2003
PhD, Capella University, 2011

Usha Fountain, PhD (2001)

Assistant Professor, Psychology
BA, University of the South Pacific, 1981
MEd, University of Queensland, 1990
PhD, University of Queensland, 1995
Phone: 580-559-5577
ufountain@ecok.edu

Erica Gay, MS (2006)

Adjunct Professor, Human Resources
BA, Shippensburg University, 1998
MS, East Central University, 2007

Jack Green, EdD (2010)

Assistant Professor, Education
BSE, Missouri Southern University, 2001
MA, Southern Nazarene University, 2004
EdD, Saint Louis University, 2009
Phone: 580-559-5240
jgreen@ecok.edu

Yvette Harjo, JD (1984)

Professor, Accounting and Adolph Linscheid Distinguished Teaching Professor
BSEd, East Central University, 1969
MS, Oklahoma State University, 1970
JD, University of Oklahoma, 1984
Phone: 580-559-5268
yharjo@ecok.edu

Ben Harper, PhD (1975)

Professor, Education
BAEd, Northeastern State College, 1971
MEd, Northeastern State College, 1973
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 1975
Phone: 580-559-5347
bharper@ecok.edu

Joanna Harris-Young, PhD (1990)

Professor and Chair, Psychology
BA, University of Oklahoma, 1982
MS, University of Houston, 1986
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 1990
Phone: 580-559-5318
jharris@ecok.edu

Ellen Harwell, MS (2009)

Instructor, Psychology
BS, East Central University, 2000
MS, East Central University, 2004
Phone: 580-559-5335
ellijhar@ecok.edu

William Heitland, EdD (1979)

Professor, Psychology and Adolph Linscheid Distinguished Teaching Professor
BS, Ohio State University, 1970
MS, St. Francis College, 1974
EdD, Ball State University, 1977
Phone: 580-559-5329
bheitlnd@ecok.edu

Sonya Hensley (2011)

Instructor, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 2007
MS, East Central University, 2009

Phyllis L. Isaacs, PhD (2009)

Assistant Professor, Education
BA, East Central University, 1998
MEd, East Central University, 2005
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2009
Phone:  580-559-55327
phylisa@ecok.edu

Kurt H. Jackson, PhD (1982)

Associate Professor, Business Administration
BS, Oklahoma State University, 1969
MS, Oklahoma State University, 1977
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 1984
Phone: 580-559-5275
kjackson@ecok.edu 

Ben Johnson (2008)

Instructor of Spanish, English & Languages/CLASS
BA, East Central University, 1962
MA, Stephen F. Austin State University, 1973

Charlie Jones, JD (1986)

Professor and Chair, Business Administration and Frank Crabtree Sr. Family Endowed Professor of Business Policy
BBA, University of Oklahoma, 1982
MBA, University of Oklahoma, 1986
JD, University of Oklahoma, 1986
Phone: 580-559-5269
cjones@ecok.edu 

Marc Klippenstine, MA (2007)

Assistant Professor, Psychology
BA, University of Regina, 1998
MA, York University, 2001
Phone: 580-559-5342
mklippen@ecok.edu
 

Adrianna Lancaster, PhD (2003)

Dean, Linscheid Library and Distance Education
Assistant Professor, Library
BA, East Central University, 1990
MLS, Texas Woman's University, 1992
PhD, Texas Woman's University, 1997
Phone: 580-559-5368
alancaster@ecok.edu 

Thomas W. Lanis, PhD (1997)

Associate Professor, Business Administration, Gene A. Nelson Endowed
Chair in Business Administration
BS, Oklahoma State University, 1977
MBA, Oklahoma State University, 1987
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 2004
Phone: 580-559-5573
tlanis@ecok.edu

R. Sterling Lynd, PhD (1977)

Associate Professor, Psychology
BA, University of North Texas, Denton, 1969
MA, University of North Texas, Denton, 1971
PhD, University of North Texas, Denton, 1976
Phone: 580-559-5343
slynd@ecok.edu

Linda Massey, EdD (1999)

Associate Professor, Human Resources
BA, California State University - Stanislaus, 1985
MA, California State University - Sacramento, 1988
EdD, Oklahoma State University, 2003
Phone: 580-559-5402
lmassey@ecok.edu

Robin M. Murphy, PhD (2007)

Assistant Professor, English and Languages
BA, Oklahoma State University, 1993
MEd, Northeastern State University, 2000
MA, Northeastern State University, 2003
PhD, Bowling Green State University, 2007
Phone:  580-559-5449
rmurphy@ecok.edu

Susan Odunukwe, PhD (2005)

Adjunct Professor, Human Resources
BA, University of Nigeria, 1985
MA, Lesley College, 1990
PhD, The Union Institute and University

Thom M. Parr (2011)

Assistant Professor, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1981
MS, East Central University, 1994
Phone: 580-559-5401
thomparl@ecok.edu

Jack Paschall, EdD, (1970)

Professor, Education
BA, Southeastern State College, 1965
MEd, Southeastern State College, 1967
EdD, University of Oklahoma, 1970
Phone: 580-559-5346
jpaschll@ecok.edu 

Martha Pennington, EdD (2005)

Assistant Professor, Education
BA, Wayne State College, 1973
MAE, University of Houston, 1996
EdD, Texas A&M - Kingsville, 2002
Phone: 580-559-5322
mpenning@ecok.edu

Marc Petrowsky, PhD (1991)

Professor, Sociology
BA, Southwestern State College, 1970
MA, University of Florida, 1971
PhD, University of Florida, 1975
Phone: 580-559-5411
mpetrow@ecok.edu 

Jolene Poore (2011)

Adjunct, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1995
MS, East Central University, 2005

Jason Prather, MHR (2001)

Assistant Professor, Kinesiology and Coordinator, Athletic Training
BS, Western Oregon University, 1997
MHR, University of Oklahoma, 2000
Phone: 580-559-5315
jprather@ecok.edu 

Richard R. Putnam, PhD (1992)

Associate Professor, Psychology
BS, North Texas State University, 1972
MEd, North Texas State University, 1973
PhD, Texas A&M University, 1985
Phone: 580-559-5676
rputnam@ecok.edu 

Regina Robertson, PhD (1990)

Professor, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1976
MS, Oklahoma State University, 1979
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2004
Phone: 580-559-5647
rrobrtsn@ecok.edu

Steven Roring, PhD (2012)

Assistant Professor, Human Resources
BA, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, 2006
MS, Oklahoma State University, 2008
PhD, Oklahoma State University, 2012

Ralph Sharp, EdD (1983)

Associate Professor, Education
BA, Lawrence University, 1972
MA, University of Missouri, 1973
EdS, University of Missouri, 1979
EdD, Univeristy of Missouri, 1982
Phone: 580-559-5352
rsharp@ecok.edu

David L. Smith MEd (2011)

Assistant Professor, Education
BA, Colorado State University, 1996
MEd, University of Virginia, 2002
PhD, University of Nevada,in progress
dlsmith@ecok.edu

Regina E. Smith, MEd (2011)

Assistant Professor, Education
AA, Front Range Community College, 1994
BS, Colorado State University, 1996
MEd, University of Virginia, 2002
MA, Biola University, 2010
PhD, University of Nevada, in progress
rsmith@ecok.edu

Jeanene Taylor, MS (1999)

Adjunct Professor, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 1993
MS, East Central University, 1995

Carolyn K. Thomas, EdD (1998)

Professor, Education
BS, Oklahoma State University, 1971
MEd, Oklahoma State University, 1992
EdD, Oklahoma State University, 2001
cthomas@ecok.edu

Santa G. Velez, PhD (2011)

Assistant Professor, Psychology
BA, Barnard College, Columbia University, 1976
MS Ed, Brooklyn College, CUNY, 1978
PhD, University of Texas at Austin, 1989
Phone: 580-559-5324
svelez@ecok.edu 

Staci Vollmer, MEd (2009)

Instructor, Education
AS, Oklahoma City Community College, 2003
BS, University of Oklahoma, 2005
MEd, University of Oklahoma, 2007
Phone:  580-559-5320
svollmer@ecok.edu

Brenda Walling, EdD (1998)

Dean, College of Education and Psychology
Professor, Education
AA, Murray State College, 1982
BA, East Central University, 1984
MA, Oklahoma State University, 1988
EdD, Oklahoma State University,1994
Phone: 580-559-5552
bwallling@ecok.edu

Belinda Westfall, MA (2006)

Adjunct Professor, Education
AA, Carl Albert State College, 1987
BA, Northeastern State University, 1990
MA, East Central University, 2004

Jeff S. Williams, PhD (1999)

Assistant Professor and Chair, Kinesiology and Director, Athletic Training
BS, University of Oklahoma, 1996
MHR, University of Oklahoma, 1999
PhD, University of Oklahoma, 2011
Phone: 580-559-5357
jwillims@ecok.edu

Paige N. Williams, PhD (1997)

Professor, Human Resources
BA, Purdue University, 1988
MS, Purdue University, 1991
PhD, Purdue University, 1998
Phone: 580-559-5403
pcummins@ecok.edu 

Holli Witherington (2011)

Adjunct, Human Resources
BA, East Central University, 2004
MEd, East Central University, 2008