Department of Chemistry

The department of chemistry offers both a major and a minor in chemistry, a major in chemistry for teacher certification, and courses needed for those wishing to teach biology, chemistry, physics, physical science, or general science at the public school level. The department also functions as a support and service department for required courses in biology, nursing, environmental science, and allied health programs.

Additionally the department provides pre-professional studies for students pursuing medicine, engineering, pharmacy, veterinary medicine, physical therapy, and medical technology.

A quality program of study is made possible through small classes, opportunity for student/professor interaction, and the unique situation of having the Robert S. Kerr Environmental Protection Agency Groundwater Research Laboratory located in Ada, OK. Cooperative agreements with this governmental institution allow expanded opportunities for study, research, quality analytical instrumentation, and possible student employment while at ECU.

Lab Student